Neal Mankad

Photography by Jenny Fontaine

Neal P. Mankad
S.B. 2004, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Advisor: Joseph Sadighi)
Ph.D. 2010, California Institute of Technology (Advisor: Jonas Peters)
Postdoc. 2010-2012, University of California-Berkeley (Advisor: Dean Toste)

UIC Teaching Recognition Program (TRP) award, 2017-2018
UIC Honoring Our Professors’ Excellence (HOPE) Award, 2017
Thieme Chemistry Journal Award, 2017
UIC Rising Star Researcher of the Year, 2016
Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship, 2015
NIH Ruth L. Kirschstein NRSA Fellowship, 2010
NSF Graduate Research Fellowship, 2004

Click here for Neal’s Chemistry Family Tree

Neal Mankad grew up in Williamsport, PA before attending college at MIT (Class of 2004). While at MIT, Neal performed research in the laboratories of Joseph Sadighi, focusing on copper(I) alkyl and hydride complexes supported by N-heterocyclic carbene ligands with the goal of catalyzing C-C bond formation reactions involving CO2. Neal then began a Ph.D. as a NSF Graduate Research Fellow (2004-2007) in the laboratories of Jonas Peters at Caltech, before moving with Prof. Peters to MIT during completion of his dissertation (2007-2010). Neal’s Ph.D. research focused on unusual redox processes of monocopper and dicopper systems, as well as on low-valent iron chemistry relevant to N2 reduction. After defending his Ph.D. at Caltech, Neal moved to the University of California-Berkeley to conduct postdoctoral research as a NIH Ruth L. Kirschstein NRSA Fellow in the laboratories of Dean Toste. With Prof. Toste, Neal’s postdoctoral research involved studying mechanistic aspects of gold-catalyzed coupling reactions, revealing some important roles played by Au-F and Au-Au interactions involving high-valent catalytic intermediates. In 2012, Neal began his independent career as an Assistant Professor in the UIC Department of Chemistry. His group’s research interests are in the fields of synthetic inorganic chemistry, organometallic chemistry, and homogeneous catalysis. He was promoted to Associate Professor in 2018.